2014 ICTP Ramanujan Prize goes to Miguel Walsh

Miguel Walsh

Miguel Walsh

The ICTP Ramanujan Prize has been awarded since 2005 to mathematicians below the age of 45 from developing countries who have made a fundamental contribution to mathematics at an early age. It was originally instituted by ICTP, the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund, and the International Mathematical Union (IMU). The participation of the Abel Fund ended in 2012; the 2013 Prize was jointly funded and administered by ICTP and the IMU. The Department of Science and Technology of the Government of India has now agreed to fund the Prize for a 5 year period, starting with the 2014 Prize.

The 2014 Srinivasa Ramanujan Prize will be awarded to Dr. Miguel Walsh. The Prize is in recognition of Dr. Walsh’s outstanding contributions to Ergodic Theory and Number Theory, including a proof of the norm convergence of multiple polynomial or nilpotent ergodic averages, a long-standing problem in ergodic theory, and important results in inverse sieve problems leading to a sharp bound on the number of rational points on curves.

Miguel Walsh was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina. He received his “Licenciatura” degree in 2010 from Universidad de Buenos Aires and his PhD from the same institution in 2012, under the supervision of Román Sasyk. During this period he held a CONICET doctoral fellowship. He is currently based at the University of Oxford. His research so far has focused on inverse problems in arithmetic combinatorics, the limiting behaviour of ergodic averages and the estimation of rational points on curves. Miguel has been appointed as a Clay Research Fellow for a term of four years beginning 1 July 2014.

Sources: ICTP Website and Clay Math website.