2015 ICTP Ramanujan Prize goes to Amalendu Krishna

2015 ICTP Ramanujan Prize goes to Amalendu Krishna

The ICTP Ramanujan Prize has been awarded since 2005 to mathematicians below the age of 45 from developing countries who have made a fundamental contribution to mathematics at an early age. It was originally instituted by ICTP, the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund, and the International Mathematical Union (IMU). The participation of the Abel Fund ended in 2012; the 2013 Prize was jointly funded and administered by ICTP and the IMU. The Department of Science and Technology of the Government of India has now agreed to fund the Prize for a 5 year period, starting with the 2014 Prize.

The 2015 Ramanujan Prize has been awarded to Amalendu Krishna of India’s Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR). Dr. Krishna won the award for his outstanding contributions in the area of algebraic K-theory, algebraic cycles and the theory of motives; the full Ramanujan Prize citation is here.

Dr. Krishna was born in India and completed his PhD from TIFR in 2001. From 2001 to 2004 he taught mathematics as the Hedrick Assistant Professor at the University of California at Los Angeles. From there he moved to the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey, becoming a member of the School of Mathematics from 2004 to 2005. He is currently an associate professor at TIFR.

For more information see here.

Sources : ICTP website.