2018 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics awarded to Christopher Hacon and James McKernan

The Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics is a prize that was announced in 2013 and is funded in parts by Yuri Miller and Mark Zuckerberg.The joint winners of the USD 3 million prize for 2018 are Christopher Hacon of the University of Utah and James McKernan of the University of California, San Diego. The citation reads :

For transformational contributions to birational algebraic geometry, especially to the minimal model program in all dimensions.

The New Horizons Mathematics Prize were also awarded in the same award ceremony. The New Horizons in Mathematics Prize is awarded to promising early-career researchers who have already produced important work in mathematics. The winners of this year are Aaron Naber (Northwestern University), Maryna Viazovska (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), Zhiwei Yun (Yale University) and Wei Zhang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Columbia University).

More information can be found here.