2016 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics

2016 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics


Ian Agol

The Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics is a prize that was announced in 2013 and is funded in parts by Yuri Miller and Mark Zuckerberg. The 2016 Prize was awarded to Professor Ian Agol of the University of California, Berkeley. The citation reads

For spectacular contributions to low dimensional topology and geometric group theory, including work on the solutions of the tameness, virtual Haken and virtual fibering conjectures.

More information can be found here.

Two New Horizons in Mathematics Prizes were awarded to Larry Guth (MIT); and André Arroja Neves (Imperial College London). A third New Horizons in Mathematics Prize, recognizing Peter Scholze of Bonn University, was declined. More information about this can be found here.