Eknath Ghate wins the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award 2013

Dr. Eknath Prabhakar Ghate

Dr. Eknath Prabhakar Ghate

Dr. Eknath Prabhakar Ghate, of the School of Mathematical Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) Mumbai has been selected for the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology for the year 2013 in Mathematical Science category along with seven other scientists in various other disciplines. This year the other awardees include Dr Sathees Chukkurumbal Raghavan (Biological Sciences) from IISc Bangalore, Dr Yamuna Krishnan (Chemical Science) from Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) Mumbai, Dr Bikramjit Basu from IISc and Dr Suman Chakraborty from IIT Kharagpur (both from Engineering Sciences), Dr Amol Dighe from TIFR and Dr Vijay Balakrishna Shenoy from IISc (Physical Science). There is no awardee this year in the Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean & Planetary Sciences category.

Instituted in 1957 in the honour of late Dr Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, an eminent scientist, founder Director and principal architect of CSIR, the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize is the most coveted national recognition for young scientists and engineers for their research and development work done in multidisciplinary science in India. The award carries a citation, a cash prize of five lakh rupees, a plaque and an honorarium till superannuation. It is given annually to young scientists below the age of 45 who have made outstanding contributions in multidisciplinary science in India only and Over 450 scientists and technologists have been so far been conferred upon this award.

Eknath GhateDr Ghate, who is currently working at Tata Institute of Fundamental Research as an associate professor in Mathematics, is a prominent figure in Indian Mathematics. He is an alumni of St. Stephen’s College, New Delhi, and got his PhD from the University of California, Los Angeles, in 1996. He specializes in Number theory and is mostly interested in problems connected to automorphic forms, Galois representations, and the special values of L-functions.


Jyotishmaan Gogoi,

Department of Mathematics, Gauhati University.